DotDragnet
May 23, 2012, 09:40:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Mobile users - Our forum is Tapatalk enabled. http://www.tapatalk.com/
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: eCommerce Regulations - Are they trading illegally?  (Read 576 times)
Whatever
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 750



View Profile WWW Awards
« on: October 20, 2010, 03:30:19 PM »

Cheltenham Town FC have launched a new online shop which is basically a folder of a ecommerce provider - http://ct1.glitnirticketing.com/ctticket/store/index.php. As you can see it's very basic and lacks any business related information such as trading name/address/contact details, there are no T's & C's and no privacy policy.

The site is linked to from this page on the main CTFC website http://www.ctfc.com/page/ClubShop/0,,10434,00.html

I spoke to someone I know there and warned them they were trading illegally as they were not displaying the info above and also because they state there are no cash refunds, only exchanges. I have warned them about the Distance Selling Regulations and the requirement to refund, in full, a purchasers payment within 7 days for no actual reason. I have stated this doesn't affect tickets or other bespoke products.

So, my question is, are they trading illegally as they only show a few details on the main site which then links through and not the actual website? My argument is that someone could find the site without linking through their main site and therefore they have no idea of T's & C's etc.

Apparently both RBS Worldpay and Glitnir have passed the site as OK to trade but the club will take it up with them if I feel otherwise.

Am I correct?

Cheers.

Logged

Office Stationery : Paper : Inks & Toners
10% off first 3 orders for registered users. Use the code DDN10
sarahA
DDN Contribs
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2184



View Profile WWW Awards
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 08:41:33 PM »

I would imagine the site is effectively illegal as there are no details, no address etc. as you say. Right now it looks like someone passing themselves off as Cheltenham Town FC with a basic shop site. Regardless of legalities, it's not a site I would trust at all so regardless, it would do them good to give their customers a reason to have faith in the site.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!